History

The history of Saugues

The land which today makes up the territory of Saugues was once part of Gabalum, or Gévaudan. Its inhabitants, the Gabales were proud, brave, fierce, people who lived in the dense forests which covered almost the entire region.

At the time of Caesar, the Gabales were ruled by the Arvernes. Legend has it that in 50 B.C. Julius Caesar came to camp near St Chély and his troupes were spread out as far as our lands. Saugues was then known as “Salgacume”. After the fall of the Roman Empire in 476, the land of “Salgacum” went from the rule of the Visigoths to that of the Francs. Upon his death Clovis bequeathed this land to Clotaire 1st.

  • For a little history, Odillon de Mercoeur was the first known Lord of Salgues (spelling of Saugues in the Middle-Ages).
  • His lands encompassed 507 parishes with 5665 families, not including the poor.

During the invasions, from 725 to 730, the Saracens and the Spanish Moors burned everything in their passage. It is highly likely that this is how the street “des Maures” (Moors street), in the South-West of Péchamp, got its name.

The end of the Hundred Years War left an atmosphere of insecurity, the mercenaries were a law unto themselves and throughout the land people took to repairing castles and fortresses. The people dug moats and reinforced fortifications in order to provide themselves with some level of defence.

By the XIV century there were over 30 fortified castles in the region. The lands were finally ready for the mercenaries nicknamed “the English”.

The Great Fire of 1788 (Saugues)

Over one hundred families left without food or shelter from the cold and the snow…

An unimaginable tragedy took place in the streets of Saugues destroying a whole population of craftspeople – milliners, tanners, weavers forever. On the 5th of September, a thick black smoke engulfed the Rue du Four in the small town set into the narrow ramparts. Children’s’ screams drew a crowd onto the street…the communal oven had caught fire. Water was thrown on the fire only to rebound as steam! The narrow little terraced houses went up in flames one after the other. Directly in the heart of the town, caught in this fire-trap, it was every man for himself!

The fire created utter carnage in a matter of hours. From Rue du Four, to the Château du Seigneur, destroying the prisons, the church & sacristy, Saint-Jacques hospital, the Dominican sisters building, no street was spared…

In just over three hours, 104 houses were reduced to ashes; belongings, furniture, clothes, supplies, the fire had taken everything. Survivors took refuge at Gardette cemetery, among the dead. One interminable night, amidst children’s’ screams, women’s’ wails, the pleas of these poor people that morning would find without home or food.

Tour des Anglais (The Tower of the English)

  • 23 meters high, the summit offers a magnificent panoramic view of the Saugues region.

Dating back to the late middle-ages, the town of Salgue was one of the seven or eight fortified towns in the province owned by the Viscount of Gévaudan which in the X century, became the house of Barcelone through marriage, and then with the “valse des suzerainetés” conceded to King Saint-Louis (1258).

In the XII century, the parishes of Saugues and Malzieu were under the Duke of Mercoeur in Auvergne. The main part of the fortifications and famous square tower, were built at this time. The Tour des Anglais, a large keep adjoining the castle, was destroyed by the great fire September 1788, together with a large part of the centre of the town. The stones from the castle walls were used to rebuild the houses lost to the fire. The Tour du Seigneur was the only tower to remain intact.

These solid fortifications were put to the test during the Hundred Years War against the English (1160-1259 & 1337-1453), and the Wars of Religion (at the end of the XVI century).

In 1380 Connetable Bertrand Duguesclin was sent by Charles V to get rid of the “English” who were holding the town under siege. The besiegers were, in fact, not all English but mercenaries and bandits who ransacked the towns that they held under siege (Saugues, Châteauneuf-de-Randon). In the 1970’s thanks to the efforts of the municipality and the Mayor Jean-Claude Simon, together with the work of Lucien Gires a Sauguain artist, the Tower was given a new lease of life. Visitors can enjoy the immense frescos of forest works, crafts of times-gone-by and various different expositions.

The White Penitents of Saugues

  • Founded in May 1652, with the permission of the bishop of Mende
  • Today in Haute-Loire 3 brotherhoods remain : Saugues, Ste Sigolène and Puy-en-Velay

The White Penitents of Saugues counted 150 members at its creation, these included Lords, representatives of the best families of the town, canons of St Médard and also foreign priests – as recruitment was not restricted to the parish of Saugues. In 1792, the Constituent Assembly was to wipe out Congregations and Brotherhoods, but this met with active resistance from the Sauguains Penitents. The Official trace of the White Penitents of Saugues disappeared until 1801 with records on ceremonies and processions from 1803 on.

PénitentsPénitents

In the XIX century, the brotherhood counted 200 Penitents; today it has 40 members. Main activities : the Holy-Thursday Procession, mass, the feast of St Bénilde, on the 15th of August at Notre-Dame du Gévaudan or Puy, the Notre-Dame d’Estours pilgrimage, funeral assistance, visits to the sick, etc.

Notre-Dame du Gévaudan

Notre-Dame-du-GevaudanN-D-du-Gevaudan

Notre-Dame du Gévaudan is in itself of great historical importance. During the Second World Reverend Bertrand made a sacred promise to erect a statue on had promised God to erect a statue on the highest point at Saugues, if the town was spared during the passing of Germans to Mont Mouchet. In June 1944 battles raged at La Vachellerie on the edge of the town and in the villages all around Saugues but Saugues itself was spared. Reverend Bertrand held his promise and Notre-Dame du Gévaudan was inaugurated the 27th of October 1947, and blessed by Monsignor Martin the Bishop of Puy.

The Beast of Gévaudan

First of all, this is not a legend but a true story.
Parish records prove that at least 100 people, all children and women, were killed and more or less devoured by a mysterious beast “anthropophagus” within the space of three years, from July 1764 to June 1767, in the north of Gévaudan (Saugues, St Alban, Aumont, Le Malzieu, Langogne), and in Auvergne (Pinols, Ruynes). Witness accounts exist, such as that of Jean Portefaix, a young shepherd from Villeret de Chanaleilles who fought the beast when it appeared while he was watching over his flock with his fellow shepherds.

La bête du Gévaudan
Another account came from Marie-Jeanne Valet who drove her bayonet into the chest of the beast, any many others.

The matter became a real affair of the state. The King’s dragons, experienced hunters, the King’s arquebus, nothing could get the better of this strange beast. On the 19th of June 1767, it was a peasant, Jean Chastel that finally slayed the beast. Chastel crossed half of France to present the King with the beast’s body, but it was in such a state that it was buried once in the grounds of the castle, taking its secrets with it. This mysterious story fascinates the general public and the media to this day, over two centuries after the chilling events took place.

Agriculture, a strong link

  • The mountainous land which surrounds Margeride is excellent for farming cattle and sheep.
  • The livestock market


On the flank of the Margeride Mountains, in the heart of old Gévaudan, the town of Saugues and its agricultural community has maintained a solid reputation down through the centuries. From the end of the XIX century to the middle of the XX century, the land was devoted either to the production of crops or pasture for farming livestock.

Herds of grazing sheep speckle the pastures as far as the eye can see in this part of Margeride, a real fief of sheep mainly of the Blanche du Massif Central (White of the Massif Central) breed. With over 25,000 sheep, the canton of Saugues is by far the largest and represents around 20% of the department’s workforce. These farmers are shepherds at heart with either special pure breeds, or herds that are complimentary to herds of cattle.

The cattle farmed are mainly dairy cows such as Montbéliarde or Abondance and herds of pure breeds such as Aubrac, Limousine, Charolaise and Salers. Over the last number of years farmers have begun diversifying with the development of other commercial activities such as petting farms, the sale and delivery of dairy products directly from the farm, etc.

Where there is production of agricultural goods the livestock market is sure to be found. At the beginning of the XIX century, Saugues was renowned for its horse, pig, cattle and sheep markets. Up until 1992, the market took place outside in the public square, but faced with increases in the volume of transactions, and in an effort to overcome the inconvenience of disagreeable weather conditions, the Michel Malige market opened its doors in 1992. The calf market takes place on Monday, and the sheep market on Friday, plus twice a month, the market for cull cow and grazing cows. The sheep market is rated forth in the country; it is the reference for producers who often come from far and wide, which is a great advantage to local producers.

 Séjourner à Saugues

Du camping aux gîtes, des chalets aux hôtels, découvrez l’ensemble des hébergements pour bien préparer votre séjour...

Ou séjourner à Saugues ?

Histoire

Histoire du pays de Saugues

Ce qui forme le territoire de Saugues faisait partie autrefois du pays de Gabalum, c’est-à-dire du Gévaudan. Les habitants, les Gabales étaient fiers, braves, féroces et vivaient dans les forêts épaisses qui recouvraient presque toute la contrée.

Au temps de César, les Gabales étaient sous la dépendance des Arvernes. Selon la légende, en 50 avant J.C, Jules César vint camper près de ST Chély et ses troupes s’étendirent jusque dans notre contrée. Saugues s’appelait alors « Salgacume ». Après la chute de l’empire romain, en 476, le pays de « Salgacum » passa de la domination des Wisigoths à celle des Francs. A sa mort, Clovis légua ce territoire à Clotaire 1er.

  • Pour la petite histoire, notons que le premier seigneur de « Salgues» (appellation de Saugues au Moyen-Age) connu se nommait Odillon de Mercoeur.
  • Son domaine comprenait 507 paroisses et regroupait 5665 familles sans compter les pauvres.


Durant cinq ans, de 725 à 730, ce fut l’invasion des Sarrasins et des Maures d’Espagne qui incendièrent tout sur leur passage. D’où, sans doute, l’origine de la rue « des Maures » se trouvant au sud-ouest de Péchamp.

La fin de la guerre de Cent ans laissa un climat d’insécurité, les mercenaires se retrouvèrent livrés à eux-mêmes et partout, les gens réparèrent les châteaux, les maisons fortes. Pour se mettre en sécurité, on creusa des fossés et on consolida les fortifications.

Au XIV siècle, plus de 30 châteaux forts sont dénombrés dans la région. Le pays était fin prêt pour recevoir les mercenaires surnommés alors « Routiers ou encore Anglais… ».

Incendie de Saugues en 1788

Plus de cent familles sans logis rôdent dans le froid et la neige… Qui aurait pu imaginer le tragique fait divers qui laissa dans les rues de Saugues, petite ville resserrée dans l’étroit de ses remparts, une empreinte douloureuse, ruinant à jamais une population artisanale de tisserands, de chapeliers et de tanneurs.

C’est le 5 septembre, une fumée noirâtre s’allonge dans la rue du Four. Des enfants crient, la foule se rassemble…. Le four banal vient de prendre feu. On jette de l’eau : elle rebondit en vapeur sur le feu ! Les petites maisons étroites accolées les unes aux autres s’embrasent rapidement… Dans toute l’enceinte de la ville, prise comme dans un piège, c’est le sauve-qui-peut !

Il ne faudra que quelques heures pour que le désastre soit complet. De la rue du Four, enveloppant le château du Seigneur, détruisant les prisons, l’église des pénitents et la sacristie, l’hôpital Saint-Jacques, le bâtiment des sœurs du Tiers-Ordre de Saint-Dominique, le feu n’épargne aucune rue…

En l’espace de trois heures, 104 maisons furent détruites en cendre, effets, papiers, meubles, linges, provisions de bouche, tout fut consumé… Ce fut au cimetière de la Gardette, parmi les morts, que les vivants trouvèrent asile. Une nuit interminable, au milieu des cris d’enfants, des sanglots de femmes et des plaintes de ces pauvres gens que le jour allait retrouver sans abri et sans pain….

Tour des Anglais

  • Du haut de ses 23 métres, la terrasse offre un magnifique panorama sur le Pays de Saugues.


Datant d’un très haut Moyen-Age, la ville de Salgue était l’une des sept ou huit places fortifiées dans cette province de la Vicomté du Gévaudan qui fut au Xème siècle, par un mariage, de la maison de Barcelone et, par la « valse des suzerainetés » cédée au roi Saint-Louis (1258).

Au XIIème siècle, le mandement de Saugues, comme celui du Malzieu dépendait du Duc de Mercoeur en Auvergne… et c’est de cette époque que date l’essentiel des fortifications, dont la fameuse tour carrée, dite Tour des Anglais, donjon attenant au château, détruit par un incendie les 4 et 5 septembre 1788, en même temps qu’une grande partie du centre de la cité. Ce sont les pierres des pans de mur du château qui servirent à reconstruire les maisons incendiées. Seule la Tour du Seigneur a été conservée.

Ces solides fortifications furent à l’épreuve des dures batailles que connut le Gévaudan pendant les guerres de Cent Ans (1160-1259 et 1337-1453) contre les Anglais, puis des guerres de Religion (fin XVIème siècle).

Le nom de la Tour des Anglais date des années 1380, époque où le Connetable Bertrand Duguesclin fut envoyé dans la province par Charles V pour déloger les « Anglais » qui n’étaient pas tous Anglais, mais plutôt des Routiers et bandits désœuvrés qui rançonnaient les villes qu’ils assiégeaient (Saugues, Châteauneuf-de-Randon.). Dans les années 1970 grâce à la volonté de la municipalité, du maire Jean-Claude Simon et du travail de Lucien Gires, artiste sauguain la Tour a repris vie. L’intérieur offre aux visiteurs d’immenses fresques sur les travaux de la forêt, les métiers d’autrefois, et des expositions .

Les Pénitents Blancs de Saugues

  • Elle est fondée en mai 1652, avec l’autorisation de l’Evêque de Mende.
  • Aujourd’hui en Haute-Loire, il ne reste plus que 3 Confréries : Saugues, Ste Sigolène et le Puy-en-Velay


A sa création : 150 membres dont des grands seigneurs, des représentants des meilleures familles de la ville, des chanoines de St Médard et aussi, des prêtres étrangers car le recrutement n’était pas réservé à la seule paroisse de Saugues. En 1792, l’Assemblée Constituante supprimera les Congrégations et Confréries, mais les Pénitents Sauguains feront de la résistance active. Ce n’est qu’en 1801 que l’on retrouvera une trace officielle de ces derniers qui n’oseront célébrer les différentes cérémonies et processions qu’à partir de 1803.

PénitentsPénitents

Au XIXè siècle, la confrérie comptait 200 pénitents ; aujourd’hui, une quarantaine de Membres.
Principales activités : la Procession du Jeudi-Saint, l’animation des messes, fête de St Bénilde, du 15 août à Notre-Dame du Gévaudan ou au Puy, pèlerinage à Notre-Dame d’Estours, assistance aux funérailles, visite des malades, …

Notre-Dame du Gévaudan

Notre-Dame-du-GevaudanN-D-du-Gevaudan
Notre-Dame du Gévaudan est en effet à elle seule un point fort de l’histoire du Gévaudan. Elle est la matérialisation d’un vœu du curé Bertrand, qui avait promis à Dieu d’ériger une statue sur un point culminant de Saugues, si la ville était épargnée au moment du passage des convois allemands se rendant au Mont Mouchet, durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. La bataille fit rage en juin 1944 du côté de la Vachellerie et à l’entrée du bourg. Des maisons furent bombardées, quelques morts furent à déplorer, mais la ville ne fut pas saccagée ni brûlée. Le curé Bertrand fidèle à ses promesses, lança une souscription et Notre-Dame du Gévaudan fut inaugurée le 27 octobre 1947, en présence de Monseigneur Martin, évêque du Puy pour la bénir.

La Bête du Gévaudan

Tout d’abord, ce n’est pas une légende, mais une histoire vraie.
En l’espace de trois ans, entre juillet 1764 et juin 1767, dans le Haut-Gévaudan (Saugues, St Alban, Aumont, Le Malzieu, Langogne), mais aussi en Auvergne (Pinols, Ruynes), au moins 100 personnes, uniquement des enfants et des femmes, furent tuées et plus ou moins dévorées par une mystérieuse bête « anthropophage », les registres paroissiaux en témoigne. Des témoignages existent. Comme celui de Jean Portefaix, jeune berger du Villeret de Chanaleilles qui lutta contre la Bête alors qu’il était en train de garder son troupeau avec des camarades.
La bête du Gévaudan
Témoignage aussi de Marie-Jeanne Valet qui planta sa baïonnette dans le poitrail de la Bête et bien d’autres.
Une histoire qui devient une véritable affaire d’état. Les Dragons du roin les chasseurs expérimentés, l’arquebuse du roi, personne ne vient à bout de cette étrange Bête.

Le 19 juin 1767, c’est un paysan, Jean Chastel qui viendra à bout de la Bête. Il traverse la moitié de la France pour la présenter au roi, mais son état est telle qu’elle est aussitôt enterrée dans les jardins du château, gardant à jamais son secret. Cette histoire merveilleuse, car elle permet de nourrir tous les fantasmes, mystérieuse, car elle garde toujours son secret, est et reste toujours d’actualité car ce mystère passionne nombre de contemporains et de nombreux médias, même deux siècles après les méfaits.

L’agriculture, un maillon fort

  • Les terrains de montagne qui entourent la Margeride sont très propices à l’élevage des bovins et des ovins.
  • Le marché au bestiaux


Au flanc des monts de la Margeride, en plein coeur de l’ancien Gévaudan, depuis plusieurs siècles, la cité de Saugues et son activité agricole ont une solide réputation. De la fin du XIXème jusqu’au milieu du XXème, les terres sont consacrées soit aux labours pour la production de céréales, soit aux pâturages pour l’élevage.

Aussi loin que se porte le regard, il est difficile de ne pas apercevoir à la belle saison un troupeau de brebis pâturant tranquillement sur ce bout de Margeride, véritable fief du mouton et essentiellement de la race dite Blanche du Massif Central. Avec plus de 25 000 brebis, le canton de Saugues est de loin le plus important et représente environ 20% de l’effectif départemental. Les éleveurs sont des moutonniers dans l’âme avec soit des troupeaux spécialisés, soit des troupeaux complémentaires de troupes bovines.

Au niveau des bovins, on trouve surtout des troupeaux laitier composés des races Montbéliarde et Abondance et les troupeaux allaitant constitués de race pure comme l’Aubrac, la Limousine, la Charolaise et la Salers. Depuis quelques années, les agriculteurs opérent une diversification de leur activité avec le développement de l’acceuil à la ferme, la transformation et la vente directe de produits fermiers.

Qui dit production agricole, dit marché aux bestiaux. Au début du XIXème siècle, Saugues était réputé pour ses marchés aux chevaux, aux cochons, aux bovins et aux agneaux. Jusqu’en 1992, le marché se déroulait en plein air, sur la place publique, mais face à la progression des volumes de transactions, afin de se préserver des aléas climatiques et d’accueillir les éleveurs dans de bonnes conditions, le marché couvert Michel Malige a donc ouvert ses portes en 1992. Aujourd’hui, ce dernier accueille le marché aux veaux, le lundi et le marché aux agneaux, le vendredi, plus deux fois par mois, le marché des vaches de réformes et broutards. Le marché aux ovins est au 4ème rang national, il est une référence pour les négociants qui viennent souvent de loin, et il est une chance pour les éleveurs locaux qui valorisent ainsi le fruit de leur travail.

 Séjourner à Saugues

Du camping aux gîtes, des chalets aux hôtels, découvrez l’ensemble des hébergements pour bien préparer votre séjour...

Ou séjourner à Saugues ?